List of IPR Chairs



Prof. (Dr.) N.S. GOPALAKRISHNAN, Chair Professor MHRD Chair on IPR, CUSAT.

Specialized in the area of Intellectual Property Laws, his major contribution to the field of Intellectual Property Rights is his close association with Government of India in policy making at the National and International level. He worked as an expert member of the Indian delegation from 1996 onwards to negotiate and finalize three important international treaties in the field of copyright at the World Intellectual Property Organization, Geneva (Diplomatic Conference to finalize the Treaty for the Protection of Persons with print and visual disabilities, Morocco, June 2013; Diplomatic Conference to finalize the Treaty for the Protection of Audiovisual Performers, Beijing June 2012 and Diplomatic Conference for the finalization of the WIPO Treaties on Copyright and Related Rights, December 1996, Geneva).

He is actively involved in the ongoing negotiations at WIPO to finalize international instruments for the protection of Traditional Knowledge and Traditional Cultural Expressions; protection of Broadcasting Organization and Limitations and Exceptions to copyright. He has been the member of Indian delegation for international negotiations at WIPO in the SCCR and IGC from 2005 onwards.  He rendered research support to Government of India for facilitating negotiations at the TRIPS Council on TRIPS-CBD relationship. He was involved in the drafting of the amendment to the Copyright Act of India from 1997 onwards and worked as Chairman of the Drafting Committee of the Copyright Rules 2013.  In addition to this he also assisted various Ministries of Government of India and Government of Kerala in the preparation of IPR policy on different areas.

He is instrumental for introducing integrated teaching on IPR from a developmental perspective both at the graduate and post graduate level by developing innovative syllabus and teaching materials for National and International teaching institutions. Published a large number of research papers in reputed national and international journals in all fields of IPR, he executed several research projects at the national and international level critically examining the new IP regime based on TRIPS Agreement, participated in number of national and international conferences travelling extensively to different parts of the World and published several books on IPR including a book to facilitate teaching and learning of IPR from an Indian perspective using Indian case laws.

Joined as an Associate Professor at School of Legal Studies, CUSAT in 1997 he was the Director of School of Legal Studies during 2003-06. Before that he worked as Additional Professor (1997), Senior Assistant Professor (1992-1997) & Assistant Professor (1988-1992), at the National Law School of India University, Bangalore. He was also the Dean of Faculty of Law of Kannur University, Kerala (2000 ? 2002) and member of various academic bodies of different Universities in India. He has a teaching and research experience of more than 28 years.

He can be contacted at +91-9447077542 and

News & Events

        Useful Links
okey oyna agario
tempobet giris